Also Known As by Robin Benway

24 Nov

Also Known As by Robin Benway

Release date: February 26, 2013

I’m a big fan of Ally Carter’s series The Gallagher Girls.  Admittedly, I love a good title like I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You.  Who doesn’t want to pick that up?!  Still it’s got strong, smart characters and I enjoy those books.

People are going to compare these books.  Strong, smart female characters that are spies in high school are just too hard not to bring together.  But that’s where the similarities end.  The Gallagher Girls are kept separate and trained in their own school.  Maggie has her first big assignment on her own – going to high school for the first time.

At 16, Maggie is a brilliant safe cracker.  She and her parents have traveled the world helping the Collective to save the world.  But she hasn’t a clue about school uniforms. Who wears school uniforms without some personalizing?!  School schedules, homework and trying to meet her assignment to save the day is difficult enough.  But when the first friend you make is the school’s pariah, it’s going to be a little harder to connect.

I started this book because I wanted a strong female character.  I finished the book because I loved the conversations that moved it along.  The book is slim on descriptions, if you haven’t been to Soho in New York, you might not get a feel for the city in the book.  But the personal relationships move along nicely as Maggie meets the cute boy and fights with her parents for the first time and starts to grow up.  It was not an action packed book.  It was a fun book and I plan to add it to our library.

 

Leave a Reply

