Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer

4 Jan

Between the Lines

Between the Lines

By Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leeren the Lines

Publisher: First Simon Pulse
Copyright 2012

Continuing to pull out books from the YALSA Top Ten Teen Nominees (2013), I know when I see a Jodi Picoult book I need to read it.  Especially to find out if the book is appropriate for my middle school library.  I’ve read several Picoult books.  I won’t say I love them.  I will say that they effect me tremendously.  I rarely reread one simply because the emotional content is so huge, I can barely contain it.  She is an incredible author.

This book, written by Ms. Picoult and her daughter, is not a standard Picoult book.  Instead, we have a fairy tale.  15 year old Delilah is a loner.  She reads, especially fairy tales, plays chess and sits at the geek lunch table.  16 year old Prince Oliver is charming, handsome, witty, intelligent and a character in a fairy tale book.  And somehow the real Delilah and the character Prince Oliver find themselves able to talk and discover things.  Oliver wants out of the story.  Delilah needs a friend.  This is a lovely story of “what if” with books and characters.

The things that aren’t great in the book are numerous.  First, Delilah is in high school, but feels very middle-school(ish).  I don’t think the character works well.  The ending is simplified.  The story is cute and the pages in the printed book change color.  Really.  Every chapter is a different color and the colors don’t appear to connect to whether it’s real world or fairy tale world.  After the first 50 pages, it tends to be annoying.

Still, I think a number of kids will enjoy the story.  Part of my problem is probably being a Jodi Picoult fan.  This really isn’t one of her books.

Recommended:  Grades 5 & up

Leave a Reply

