Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

12 Jun

Heir of FireHeir of Fire
By Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s Book
Publication Date: September 2014

First, I have to apologize.  I have read and reviewed the first two books in this series, Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight and incorrectly referred to the books as part of a trilogy.  No such luck.  Or maybe really good luck.  I’m undecided.  I really want to see this resolved, but the characters get more real, new ones added that I want to know about and the plot twists and turns that I really don’t want it to end.  So this third book does not end the series that the author says will be “six books, so…if all goes according to plan, there will be six books in this series (maaaaybe seven).”

I have decided that this series may be the Game of Thrones for Young Adults.  I thought I would tire of Celaena’s whining, but instead I hope for the whining instead of the depression.  No matter what is thrown at her, no matter the cost, she rises to defend others.  Who wouldn’t want a queen like that?  Well, lots of people, apparently.

I should hate Manon, the Blackbeak witch.  Certainly I hate the Yellowlegs witches.  She’s really no better.  But I hope for her success.  How twisted is that?  It’s the writing.  Ms. Maas brings me along, kicking and screaming to the enemy’s camp, and suddenly, despite their evil views of humans, you hope she wins.  The side notes, the little things that make the characters real – just in passing characters – are incredible.  The witch who is her fall back sentry:

“…and Lin because if anyone ever called her by her full name, Linnea – the name her softhearted mother had given her before Lin’s grandmother tore out her heart – that person wound up with missing teeth at best. A missing face at worst.”

The other characters continue to develop and grow.  I do not know where we’re going in this series, but I’m enjoying the ride.

Recommended: Grades 8 & up

 

Leave a Reply

