Archive | January, 2015

The Testing Series by Joelle Charbonneau

16 Jan

 testing independentstudy graduationday







The Testing (released June 2013)
Independent Study (released January 2014)
Graduation Day (released June 2014)

By Joelle Charbonneau
Published by Houghton Mifflin Books for Children

“Failure is not an option.”

In this dystopian trilogy, Cia at 16 years old, travels from her remote home to the city to participate in Testing for the University.  The people who survive to graduate from the University are the hope and future of the society.  The series are fast-paced and a bit confusing.  The first book has violent deaths which are not really explained until the second book.

The second book has Cia as a spy, but always – continuing – to be tested and facing imminent death.  The third book speeds along the path asking if you should kill some in order to save yourself or the larger group.  There are exciting plot twists too.

I liked the second book because it was a “school” setting but with dark, evil intents even while trying to train the student as much as possible.  Scary, exhilirating and I ran them very quickly.  You might too.

Recommended: Grades 7 & up