Wonder Woman: Earth One Vol. 1

24 Dec

  Wonder Woman: Earth One Volume 1

By Grant Morrison

Publisher: DC Comics

Publication Date: April 12, 2016

Grant Morrison has reimagined Wonder Woman’s beginnings.  It’s not the narrative I grew up with but a good one.  Diana is much the same – the best at everything. Driven to do more, know more.  However, Steve Trevor is drawn a little differently than I remember too.  (You’ll have to read it for yourself.)  What I find annoying is that the brilliant Diana can handle the purple light but does not seem to know what it is.  Though later she can manipulate it.  Why?  I think the author was going for an innocent curiosity but it does not come across that way.  Still, the artwork is lush, bright, gorgeous. And, I want to know what happens next.

Recommendation:  Due to some of the content and implications, I will not get it in my middle school library but I still recommend it for 9th Grade and up.

Leave a Reply

